Les Fleurettes Debutante Program

Debutante Program

The Thursday Club’s Les Fleurettes Debutante Program has been an important part of the club since 1951. A Debutante is a young woman who is presented by her parents as an adult ready to assume her role in society. The presentation is made after concentrated study, training, and performance so that she realizes her responsibilities to herself, her family, and her community. The training she receives from The La Cañada Thursday Club is in the areas of personal development, etiquette, interview and public speaking skills, community and charitable service, and cultural enrichment. The Debutantes are presented at an elegant, black-tie gala, the “Bal Blanc de Noel,” which celebrates their completion of the 16-month program.

The Les Fleurettes Debutante Program is a wonderful, fun bonding experience for the girls and their mothers, along with the perfect experience leading up to their high school graduation and future plans.

Women with daughters, granddaughters, or nieces who are currently sophomores in high school now have until March 31, 2017 to go through the membership process and join the club in order to participate in the 2018 Debutante Program. Provisional Debutante candidates must attend a high school in La Cañada or live within 25 miles of the La Cañada community.

2016 Les Fleurettes Debutantes

  • Kelly Delaney
  • Sarah Lam
  • Maggie Rouleau
  • Kylie Smith
  • Lauren O’Brien

Debutante Program Chairs: Kim Ortiz and Patti Wickersham
Provisional Chair: Kim Ortiz
Debutante Ball Co-Chairs: Jody Platisa and Judy Cooper

Bal Blanc de Noël, Debutante Ball: December 30, 2016

2017 Provisional Debutantes

  • Lauren Gilmour
  • Megan Gmelich
  • Sydney Lew
  • Grace Marchosky
  • Reagan Meyers
  • Elena Melehani

Debutante Chair: Kim Ortiz
Provisional Chair: Yvonne Marchosky

For more information about the Thursday Club Debutante Program, contact Kim Ortiz at thebartines@aol.com.

2016 Les Fleurettes Debutantes

Photo by Bronson Photography

2017 Provisional Debutantes